KDE’s 20th anniversary

Yesterday was KDE’s 20th birthday and to mark the occassion, parties are being held in cities across the globe this weekend.

I’ve been involved with the KDE community for a little less than half a decade now and I’m really glad I made the choice to try contributing to some of the projects in KDE. I’ve made very good friends and have found role models within the community.

Looking back at my time with KDE so far, personally, I’m really proud of the fact that I was able to, with the help of my university and the awesome FOSS club in the campus, bring KDE to Southern India by organizing the conf.kde.in in 2015. I’m sure there have been contributors to KDE from this region, prior to the conference, but this was, to the best of my knowledge, the first KDE conference taking place anywhere in South India and to be one of the organizers was an extremely satisfying feeling indeed.

In addition, I’m also proud of my role, even if minimal, in helping new contributors to the community who are now doing a great job themselves.

So much has happened over the years, even during my short time, in the KDE community. When I started out most of the codebases were still using KDE4/Qt4 and most distros shipped KDE4 by default. It all seems like distant past now. I’m really impressed by the way the applications have moved to the KDE frameworks 5 and how stable and well supported they have become across numerous releases.

Right now, I’m really excited to see how new projects which incubated with KDE, like WikiToLearn for eg, evolve. Apart from that, I’m really excited to see what more the Plasma team can offer. I genuinely belive the Plasma Desktop is one of the most modern looking desktop environments around and the Plasma Mobile promises to be just as kickass.

Last but not least, I’m both excited and curious to see what the future holds for the Public Transport project. This is a project that I worked on during the summer under the guidance of Eike Hein and the Plasma team and we have a proof-of-concept plasmoid to show for our efforts.

At the moment, I’m pretty constrained for time owing to professional commitments. I hope to try and set aside some time whenever possible to make further progress on the plasmoid. There are a lot of tasks than can be chalked up as well, so if you’d like to lend a helping hand, please don’t hesitate to contact me or drop into #kde-publictransport IRC channel on Freenode.

Finally, I’m thankful for all the love and support that I’ve recieved from the community and I hope the next 20 years are just as beautiful as the 20 that have gone by.

One thought on “KDE’s 20th anniversary

Leave a Reply

